Home of the Smurf Community

The place for new members to introduce themselves
Page 1 of 1
Postby GoofyHobbie » Wed Feb 15, 2012 6:58 pm
Hello Maureen, Sgt. Papas, and everyone else who has preceeded me here at Blue Cavern,

My name is Dave and I go by the Username: GoofyHobbie at various websites across the Internet.

If any of you have ever visited Timeshare Users Group (TUG), you may recognize my Username, as I am very active there as a Moderator.

I recently re-kindled my toy hobby by getting involved with Lego this past summer. Prior to July, 2011, I had never touched a Lego element; but today, I literally have probably well over 50,000 pieces and I am just getting started. But, that is a story that will eventually be discussed at a Lego Forum.

Having retired back in 2000, I have remained pretty active with TUG and have simply enjoyed looking at my Smurfs from time to time.

Toy collecting has been an on-going passion since about 1982. Sometime between 1988 and 1995 I acquired a Smurf Farmhouse that apparently had been originally purchased in Germany. With that acquistion began my pursuit of Smurfs. Over the years I have acquired 132 different Smurfs and they have been prominently displayed in a large custom wooden display case with a glass front that hangs on a wall in my den.

Since 2005, I have not done anything with the Smurf portion of my hobby; but I have enjoyed having the roughly nine shelves full of Smurfs over the years. Until recently, I had no idea that there were so many avid fans of Smurfs.

Over time, I look forward to learning as much as I can about the hobby from you.

Sincerely,

Dave

Postby Smurfysmurf » Wed Feb 15, 2012 7:28 pm
:welcome: to Blue Cavern, Dave :hiya:

Glad you found us and I am looking forward chatting with you on here....Would also love to see a picture of your smurf display...we are a nosy bunch and love pictures :)
:hiya: Maureen :hiya: